ancientgreeksuggestions:

spacegate:

ratsofftoya:

ratsofftoya:

fuck all philosophy except for whatever the hell Diogenes was trying to teach

direct action

Diogenes of Sinope was on some real shit i tell you what.

-He lived in a tub in the market place cause fuck houses. There he would regularly masturbate in public and didn’t give two shits.

-He would walk around with a lantern during the day and tell people he was looking for an honest man.

-Alexander the Great was a big fan of Diogenes. He asked Diogenes if he could do any favor, and Diogenes told him that he was standing in his light and to move. Alexander was impressed but the balls of this guy, and then said ‘

But truly, if I were not Alexander, I would be Diogenes”. Diogenes replied, “If I were not Diogenes, I should also wish to be Diogenes.

-He would Pee on people who insulted him.

-When Plato defined a man as a ‘featherless biped’, Diogenes plucked a chicken and brought it to him, declaring ‘BEHOLD! PLATOS MAN!’

-The face spitting came from an instance where a man invited Diogenes to his splendid manor, and told him not to spit anywhere. So Diogenes spit in his face.

-For a while his only possession was a bowl. When he saw a child drinking water with his hands, he threw away the bowl because why bother with it when he can just use his hands?

-One theory of how he died is that he just got tired of living, held his breath, and then died. He specified in his will he wanted his body thrown out of the city so wild animals can eat it.

Seriously people should read up on this guy. He was next level shit.

– he invented BDE

sanerontheinside:

saejima-taiga:

dankmemecentral1:

I can’t believe this is real!

When will we be allowed to push anish kapoor into his own black hole.

Uhhuh. So the dude who has exclusive rights for use of Vantablack, instead of spraying a perfect circle and metaphorical hole in the ground, actually had an ‘installation’ made of a hole in the ground. 

I mean, we already knew he was a dick. 

But—what a dick. 

gaylor-moon:

gaylor-moon:

Golly gee I hope when yall preach about normalizing body hair on women it includes trans women and women of color

And like, I’m talking about other than quirky dyed armpit hair. I’m talking facial hair, support girls with mustaches, support girls with 5 o’clock shadow, I’m talking dark thick leg hair, if you’re gonna support women having hair you better be okay with it anywhere and everywhere and not just on conventionally good looking skinny white cis women…

gaysun:

Zuko’s scar is different than the typical villain’s scar bc it’s not an ambiguous sign of past violence but an explicit symbol of his father’s abuse – rather than making him seem tougher for no reason it shows that at his heart he’s just a traumatized child and not a villain at all. In this essay I will

rowantheexplorer:

twistedrunes:

I remember years ago listening to a doctor speak on the radio and something stuck with me ever since. I’m paraphrasing but the gist was this:

When someone who has been sad, distant, not themselves for a while suddenly starts going out of there way to see people, often giving them gifts or possessions don’t assume they got ‘better’. This is the time to really ask them if they are okay; to reach out and not simply accept the answer of ‘fine’ or ‘great’ or ‘never better’. Because for some people the relief of having made the decision to end their life can make them happy, euphoric even. 

He pointed out that often this change in the person is such a relief to their friends and family after having seeing someone they love suffer, they just don’t realise what has caused the change and frankly they don’t want to ‘rock the boat’ because they are just so happy to have the person they love ‘back’. But in reality, the person they love is saying goodbye. 

During the interview, he told the story of a colleague (back when he had a factory job before he became a doctor) who had been depressed for a long time. One day he came in and was really happy, people kept commenting on how good it was that he wasn’t sad and grumpy anymore. He gave people some of his things, took people to lunch. Went home and killed himself. 

He explained that when the police came to talk to people, they told him it was a common story they heard “but they were so much better.” 

So be there for your friends and family. Tell them what they mean to you. Let them talk to you without fear of judgement. LISTEN. Suggest people get help if you think they need it. 

Finally, let me add: The world will not be better off without you in it. You matter. You will be missed. Please don’t harm, hurt or kill yourself. 

And I feel it worth mentioning that this phenomenon is why medication and therapy go hand-in-hand. Studies have shown that just going on medication without regular therapy actually increases suicide risk, because now a person finally has enough energy to make the decision and do it, including energy to make all the goodbyes and other arrangements they feel need to happen first. Similarly, this is why therapists get really worried if a new patient comes for a handful of sessions and then vanishes from their radar, because it is entirely possible that they got just enough help to get over the hump of inaction but not enough to make things actually better. Depression and suicidal ideation are not things that just go away like that. If you have a friend who seems suddenly “better” without extensive, long-term treatment, keep an eye on them.

And just as a reminder, if you’re out there thinking about injuring or killing yourself, please don’t. I’d personally much rather you be here tomorrow, I care about you as a human, and I know that there are other people who care about you and would like to have you around tomorrow, too. Even if tomorrow is all you can commit to today, that’s enough for today, and we can worry about the next day tomorrow. Ultimate procrastination challenge, okay? Whatever your plan is, just hold off for at least one more day.

If you follow/support Sha* dman then unfollow me right now

bechnokid:

skeleslime-phantom:

and if you need convincing then here, a compiled archive of how disgusting and dangerous he is.

reblog if your friends/mutuals are not aware.

https://supercalloutfragilistic.tumblr.com/post/162003553184/info-on-the-pedophile-shaddai-prejean-shadman

A warning to all of you, please don’t click the links since they contain very sensitive and disgusting content.